vegan sage cornbread

It’s wicked cold here–so much so that the highest point on either nostril feels like someone’s sticking two straight razors up my nose each time I step out the door–and I spent all day wanting to bake this to go with some fiery vegan corn chowder (from Vincent Guihan’s New American Vegan) when I got home. I did, and it was amazing. Since this is the recipe I had to change to make end up this way (and since my stats tell me ‘vegan’ is the search term that leads people here most, to an admittedly paltry set of recipes), I had to share it below. For you, sure–but also for me. This is definitely one of my vegan experiments I’ll be making again.

Adapted from Michigan Herb Cookbook by Suzanne Breckenridge and Marjorie Snyder.

Ingredients

2 c. coarse yellow cornmeal

1 c. flour

1/4 c. vegetable oil

1 8.5 oz can creamed corn

1 c. shredded vegan cheddar cheese (I used Daiya’s cheddar block; way better for some reason than their pre-shredded cheddar, which I don’t like)

1 c. non-dairy milk

1 tbs apple cider vinegar

1 tbs minced onions

1/3 c. mild or hot green chilies (I used poblano, fresh)

2 1/8 tsp. baking powder

1/4 c. sugar

1.5 tsp. salt

1 tbs rubbed sage (I had never heard of this; apparently it’s different than regular sage…pretty easy to find though)

Directions

Preheat oven to 350. In a small bowl or the measuring cup itself, stir the vinegar into the nondairy milk and let sit five minutes or so while you cut vegetables. Grease a 7″ x 11″ pan and set aside. In a large bowl combine cornmeal, flour, oil, creamed corn, and cheese; blend well. Add the nondairy-and-vinegar mixture, onions, chilies, baking powder, sugar, salt, and sage. Mix thoroughly and pour into pan. You can smooth the top with a spatula if you like. Bake 25-35 minutes or until done (fork should come out clean). Goes really well with corn chowder or any hearty soup you can use the bread to sop up.

Image

Leave a Reply

