cooking in thedas: dalish hearth cakes

  

 Thought train whilst baking these:

1.) I’m going to bake these for work! I’m going to be a hero.

2.) I have just enough gluten-free flour left to even include the GF people at work! I’m going to be a SAINT.

3.) Dum dee dum, a-baking we will go… 

4.) ROLL THEM IN FLOUR?! I CAN’T! IT’LL MAKE THE GF PEOPLE SICK AND I JUST USED THE LAST OF THE GF FLOUR!

So I had to find a way to bake these sans flour-rolling. I also lack a very griddle-friendly stovetop–no gas here–so I was limited there too. I went for ten minutes in a baking sheet at 350 degrees. For the dried fruit I used golden raisins and rose hips, because I love both of those things.

These will make your house smell amazing. They’re not too sweet but they’re very amply spiced, so you’re definitely going to notice the ginger and particularly the nutmeg. I might not recommend you use rose hips, though, as they don’t soften up much with this limited amount of moisture. (Just the egg and a glug or two of milk.) Still, even if I go for just the raisins next time, the spicing on these is pretty good. Lends a different and strong enough flavor to feel unique. And you can definitely bake them if you don’t want to use the griddle–don’t even have to flip them; just pop them in for ten minutes, flattening with a spatula beforehand if you don’t want your fingerprints on them.

Leave a Reply

