random music fridays : my eyes


There’s lots I love about this song. I love reading it as a parental lament. I love the rise, the heave of the guitar at the beginning of each chorus and then its falling-back, like a sob. I was skeptical of the almost do-wop sway of the beat but they never build it too big so it never gets showy, and I love that restraint that comes off not as restraint but as bare-bones honesty.

And that piano at the end, oh man. I know it’s simple and just repeats, and that it’s probably cinematic connotations that endear me to it. And that it’s essentially a fade-out. But even so, it’s like watching someone watch videos of their kid, or listening to people talk about how small you used to be, and how much they loved you.

Leave a Reply

