random music fridays : to build a home

If you’re not familiar with The Cinematic Orchestra but this song sounds familiar, it’s because its instrumental version is currently playing in a State Farm commercial. Lacking tv, I did not learn this until visiting my father a few months ago, where I dropped what I was doing and cut straight across the house to see what had occasioned this song’s playing. I know it’s easy (and knee-jerk) to sneer at ads, since their goal is to get your money, but this one put a lump in my throat. Yes, I’m obviously easily susceptible to songs that contain lines like I misheard:

By the cracks of the skin I climbed to the top
I climbed the tree to see the world
When the gusts came around to blow me down
Held on as tightly as you held on me
Held on as tightly as you held on me……

And I built a home
for you
for me

Until I disappeared
from me
from you

I always (until, well, I just looked those lyrics up right now) misheard that as “until I disappeared from me / from you.” So I mean, *cough*. I’m susceptible to that. But it’s still a fantastic song. Even if the actual line is “Until it disappeared from me / from you.” They mean the house.

I didn’t.

Leave a Reply

